Page 47 - Aug 2021
P. 47

Subjugation Under Colonial Rule...
1908: The Calcutta Mathematical Society was established with Ashutosh Mukherjee as president.
1909: The Indian Institute of Science was established in Bangalore with the help of Jamsetji Tata. It was the first institute to introduce Master’s programme in Engineering.
1913: The
Vijnāna Parishad was founded
in Allahabad to propagate scientific literature in Indian languages.
1915: Satyendra Nath Bose was the first to translate Einstein’s original German paper on the generalised theory of relativity into English.
1917: Bose Research Institute was established by Jagadis Chandra Bose, pioneering the concept of interdisciplinary research in Asia and India in sync with the global trends.
1920: The Institute of Engineers was established. It is acclaimed to have pioneered non- formal education in engineering.
1924: Indian Chemical Society was established in Calcutta with Prafulla Chandra Ray as its founding president.
1924: Satyendra Nath Bose wrote an article on ‘Planck’s Law
and the Hypothesis
of Light Quanta’
and sent it to Albert Einstein. Einstein agreed with him, translated Bose’s paper into German, and had it published in Zeitschrift für Physik under Bose’s name. This formed the basis of the Bose- Einstein Statistics.
Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1930 for his pioneering work on scattering of light, now known as the Raman effect.
1931: Indian Statistical Institute was established on December 17. It grew
out of the Statistical Laboratory set up by Prasanta Chandra Mahalanobis at Presidency College, Calcutta.
1934: The Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore was founded by
CV Raman. The Academy began functioning with 65 founding fellows and the formal inauguration took place at the Indian Institute of Science.
1935: The Indian Science News Association was established with the initiative of Meghnad Saha and PC Ray.
1935: Madras Science Club started with the initiative of KS Varadachar with the objective to promote social amenities among the scientific workers of Madras.
1936: Birbal Sahni was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of London (FRS), the highest British scientific honor, awarded for the first time to an Indian botanist.
1942: The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
was established in September. Now it is the largest research and development organisation in India.
1945: Tata Institute
of Fundamental Research (TIFR) was established in Bombay, with Homi Jehangir Bhabha as the director. It was the first institute fully devoted to fundamental research.
1946: The Birbal Sahni Institute
of Palaeobotany
was established in Lucknow. It was a progression of the Palaeobotanical society formed by a group of botanists, led by Prof Birbal Sahni.
1946: Maharashtra Association for the Cultivation of Science was founded by scientists in Pune,
led by Shankar Purushottam Agharkar.
1947: Meghnad Saha established the Indian Institute of Nuclear Physics (now known as the Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics) in Calcutta.
Compiled by Sonam Singh Subhedar
AUGUST, 2021

   45   46   47   48   49